What I need to learn. Ready, go!

When it comes to putting this project together, there are a few things that I’ll need to learn first. The first, is I need to get up to snuff on HTML and CSS. I feel pretty confident in building a legitimate website, but a website that’s capstone-worthy? Yeaahh that’s gonna be a little bit more of a beast. I think a lot of it is going to be practicing. I haven’t done much coding since last semester so I decided to start coding my site this weekend so I’ll have enough time to practice, get the template down and then perfect it (or attempt to). I don’t think coding my site will be too difficult that it won’t be feasible, but if it gets to be that way, I fully plan on utilizing the help of classmates and professors (heyyy, Brian Walsh).

Another thing I’m going to have to learn is about the topic itself. Sitting in on that meeting last week made me realize how much I don’t actually know about teens, how they communicate or how they use cyberbullying to pick on each other. Hearing what the members who were parents had to say opened my eyes a little bit more to what’s actually going. I plan on learning more about this topic a great deal through my media management class and the case study I write. To tie it into my capstone, I’m going to look at how young people communicate via social media and research the psychology behind it, including the narcissism that seems to be going on with the youngest generation (insert obligatory “I feel old” comment here). I think reviewing the literature and articles will give me an even greater insight to this behavior.

Leave a comment